COMMITTEE ON MINISTRY REPORT to Presbytery March 28, 2023

Exams

Kluttz, Billy – Sustained the examination of Rev. Billy Kluttz on January 20, 2023 and recommend that he be received as a minister member of National Capital Presbytery to serve First Arlington Presbyterian Church pending approval at the congregational meeting on February 5, 2023. [eVote 1/20/23, CTC 2/2/23]

Oh Howard, Jeongju Grace - Sustained the examination of Rev. Jeongju Grace Oh Howard on December 15, 2022 and recommend that she be received as a minister member of National Capital Presbytery. [eVote 12/15/23, CC 2/21/23]

Foster, Garnett – Sustained the examination of Rev. Garnett Foster on March 9, 2023 and recommend that she be received as a minister member of National Capital Presbytery [eVote 2023, CC 3/21/23]

Maldarelli, Kris (CRE) - If the way be clear, COM moves to sustain the examination of Kristina Maldarelli and recommends that she be received as a Commissioned Ruling Elder of National Capital Presbytery to serve Warner Memorial Presbyterian Church. [Exam 3/17/22, CC 3/21/23]

Contracts/Terms of Call

Kluttz, Billy - Approved the proposed Terms of Call between Rev. Billy Edward Kluttz and the Congregation of First Presbyterian Church, Arlington, for the position of Solo Pastor and Head of Church Staff. [eVote1/13/23, CTC 2/2/23]

Sledge, James - Approved the contract between Rev. James Sledge and the session of Old Presbyterian Meeting House, for the position of Transitional Pastor and Head of Staff for a period of one year beginning February 21, 2023 through February 20, 2024. [eVote 1/20/23, CTC 2/2/23]

Everhart, Ruth/Leesburg - Approved the contract between Rev. Ruth Everhart and the Session of Leesburg Presbyterian Church, for the position of Interim Pastor and Head of Staff effective December 9, 2022 through May 21, 2023. [eVote 1/30/23, CTC 2/2/23]

Giddings Ivory, Elenora - Approved the contract between Rev. Elenora Giddings Ivory and the Session of Southminster Presbyterian Church, for the position of Stated Supply Pastor effective January 1, 2023 through June 30, 2023.[eVote 1/30/23, CTC 2/2/23]

Greiner/Northeastern - Approved the contract between Rev. Mark Greiner and the session of Northeastern Presbyterian Church, for the position of Transformative Stated Supply Pastor, effective January 10, 2023 and ending January 1, 2024. [eVote 2/14/23, CTC 3/2/23]

Heck/Bush Hill – Approved the contract between Rev. Dr. Barbara Heck and the session of Bush Hill Presbyterian Church, for the position of Stated Supply Pastor, effective January 1, 2023 through December 31, 2023. [eVote 2/7/23, CTC 3/2/23]

Keaton/Northeastern - Having inquired into difficulties at the church, and having met with the session, pastor and congregation, COM has come to believe that the church's ministry under the Word demands the dissolution of the pastoral relationship [between Dr. Keaton and the congregation of Northeastern PC]. In accordance with G-2.0904, COM voted to dissolve the call, effective January 9, 2023. [1/9/23, CTC 3/2/23]

Larsen/National – Approved the contract between Rev. Lisa Larsen and the session of National Presbyterian Church, for the position of Stated Supply Associate Pastor for Care, effective February 27, 2023 through February 26, 2024. [eVote 2/16/2, CTC 3/2/23]

Williams/Fairfax – Approved the proposed Terms of Call between Fairfax Presbyterian Church and Rev. Emilee Williams to serve as Associate Pastor effective March 18, 2023. [eVote 2/6/23, CTC 3/2/23]

Validated Ministry

Validated the ministry of the Queerly Gathered, a New Worshiping Community. [SMT eVote 3/14/2023, CC 3/21/23]

Validated the ministry of Dr. Perzavia Praylow at Plymouth UCC Church under the Formula of Agreement. [SMT eVote 3/17/2023, CC 3/21/23]

Dissolutions

Fauntleroy, Whitney – Approved the dissolution of the pastoral relationship between Rev. Whitney Fauntleroy and the congregation of Westminster Presbyterian Church in Alexandria effective January 8, 2023 with an amendment to the Former Pastor Policy Agreement as approved by the congregation on November 6, 2022. [CC 1/17/22]

Laha, Jr, Robert – Approved the dissolution of the pastor relationship between Rev. Dr. Robert Laha, Jr. and the congregation of Old Presbyterian Meeting House effective January 31, 2023. [eVote 1/20/23, CTC 2/2/23]

Sledge, James - Approved the dissolution of the pastoral relationship between Rev. James Sledge and Falls Church Presbyterian Church effective 2/5/23. [CC 2/21/23]

Keaton, Willie - Having inquired into difficulties at the church, and having met with the session, pastor and congregation, COM has come to believe that the church's ministry under the Word demands the dissolution of the pastoral relationship. In accordance with G-2.0904, COM voted to dissolve the call, effective January 9, 2023 [action stayed while remedial case is pending]. [CC 1/8/23]

COM Motions

COM Compensation and Personnel Policy for Pastors Change:

Motion: Move to change the language in the Compensation and Personnel Policy for Pastors from "Maternity-Paternity Leave" to "Parental Leave."

Approved

Approved

COM Coordinating Minutes – Special Meeting 1/8/23

Motion: Move to approve the minutes of the Special Meeting held on January 8, 2023.

Approved

Motion: Approved Elder Jesy Littlejohn to the pulpit supply list [eVote 2/28/23, CC 3/21/23]

Approved

Motion: To approve the 2023 Sabbatical Proposal for Rev. Judith Fulp-Eickstaedt, "An American Pilgrimage: All Who Wander are Not Lost" from May 29, 2023 to August 28, 2023. [eVote 2/20/23, CC 2/21/23] **Approved**

Coordinating Commission granted Rev. Bill Davnie permission to labor within the bounds of NCP for the duration of Judy Fulp-Eikstaedt's sabbatical. [CC 2/21/23]

Motion: To Grant MRT authority to spend funds in the Care Team budget, while Care Team has no chair. [CC 2/21/23] Approved

Approved the request to list Rev. Patrick Jackson as an at-large member of the National Capital Presbytery, while he resides in the Netherlands. [SMT eVote 2/28/2023, CC 3/21/23]

Honorably Retired

Renwick, David – Approved to move Rev. David Renwick to Honorably Retired as of November 1, 2022 [SMT eVote 2/28/23, CC 3/21/23]

Approved to Pulpit Supply List

Rev. Dr. Jeongiu Grace Oh-Howard Rev. Eunice Yang Elder Jesy Littlejohn

2022 Annual Reports Received

Specialized

Alice Ogden Bellis Jean E. Brown Gay Byron

Timothy B. Cargal Scott Eugene Carlson Anne Marie Ellestad

Abigail Evans

Benjamin Rhyne Garris

Mark F. Greiner Matthew Hackworth Jeffrey Patrick Jackson

Eunjee Lee

Catherine G. McCollough

Craig Meek

Jovce Ann Mercer Blair Moorhead Nancy Neal **Christine Reimers**

Matthew Thompson Schlageter John Seaman

Jonathan F. Smoot **Todd Sutton** Catherine Taylor Carolyn B. Tilley Holly R. Ulmer

Emilee Mackenzie Williams Carrie Elizabeth Yearick

John Y.H. Yieh

John Yoo

Yuching Eunice Yang

At Large

Glen Benson Heather Howland Bobbitt Mary Anne Collins-Stauffer Hilaire R. Henthorne Byeong Moon Im Derek Longbrake Kevin Powell JoAnn Staebler Robert J. Wellington III

2023 Housing Allowances Approved

Alice Ogden Bellis \$71,000.00 Jean E. Brown \$24,000.00 Gay L. Byron \$56,315.00 Timothy B. Cargal \$36,000.00 Larry Golemon \$34,000.00 Mark Greiner \$24,000.00 Eunjee Lee \$20,000.00 Joyce Ann Mercer \$48,000.00 John Molina-Moore \$50,000.00 Blair Moorhead \$16,500.00 Jonathan F. Smoot \$45,000.00 Todd Sutton \$9,000.00 Holly R. Ulmer \$28,000.00 Yuching Eunice Yang \$12,000.00 John Y.H. Yieh \$23,000.00 John Yoo \$43,200.00