11300 Rockville Pike, Suite 408
Rockville, MD 20852
Phone: 240.514.5348
Fax: 240.514.5349

224th General Assembly (2020)

Nomination of Commissioners to the 224th General Assembly
National Capital Presbytery
June 20-27, 2020 – Baltimore, MD

Grace and Peace, brothers and sisters of the National Capital Presbytery!

The General Assembly is coming to Baltimore next June! The Nominating Committee will be nominating a slate of ruling and teaching elders to become commissioners and a young adult to be an advisory delegate to the Assembly at the November 19, 2019 Presbytery Meeting. Click here for slate of nominees.

It is the mandate of the Presbytery to nominate commissioners who reflect the theological diversity as well as the social diversity that exists in our presbytery. The information provided on these forms helps the Nominating committee assure an appropriate balance of theological diversity; clergy and lay people; male and female; all ages; racial/ethnic groups; geographical area; and congregation sizes.

Transportation to the General Assembly, and room and board are reimbursed for commissioners and YAADS in accordance with General Assembly policy. A Dependent Care Reimbursement Policy was developed for commissioners and advisory delegates to the General Assembly – beginning with the 222nd GA (2016). 

All forms were due by Saturday, September 28, 2019. The Nominating Committee will post the slate of commissioners and delegates online by November 1, 2019. Anyone who is not nominated at that point, and wishes to be nominated from the floor must submit a completed form to the Presbytery office by November 5, two weeks before the November 19th presbytery meeting.

If you have questions about this process, please contact me at RLV@gtownpres.org or contact Sara Coe, scoe@thepresbytery.org. We anticipate a larger than usual number of applicants this year, so whether you are selected, we thank you for your willingness to serve the church in this special way.

God’s Peace,

Rev. Rachel Landers Vaagenes, NCP Nominating Committee Chair
202.644.3447 cell