11300 Rockville Pike, Suite 408
Rockville, MD 20852
Phone: 240.514.5348
Fax: 240.514.5349


June, 2012

Dear Teaching and Ruling Elders of National Capital Presbytery:

On August 30, 2011, the Presbytery Council formed an Organizational Review Task Force to review decisions related to the sale of Camp Glenkirk and the purchase and development of the Meadowkirk Camp and Conference Center. This Task Force has completed its work and shared its report to the Presbytery Council on May 23rd at a joint meeting at which virtually all members of the Council and Task Force were present. In addition, the Council met on May 30th in a meeting largely devoted to discussing its initial reactions to the report. At this meeting, the Council took two actions:

  • We are releasing the report to the presbytery so that members may read it, give it prayerful consideration, and share any reactions or comments. Report HERE.
  • We have designated five of our members to report back to the Council with recommendations for changes within our Presbytery in response to the report. These changes will be presented for consideration by the Presbytery when the group reports back. They have already scheduled four meetings over the summer months. The members who will be working on this next phase are:

Kathryn Morgan, Ruling Elder, National Presbyterian Church, Chair
Margaret Washnitzer, Ruling Elder, Fifteenth Street Presbyterian Church
Roy Howard, Teaching Elder, Saint Mark Presbyterian Church
Linda Rice-Johnston, Ruling Elder, Knox Presbyterian Church
Larry Hayward, Teaching Elder, Westminster Presbyterian Church, Alexandria
Wilson Gunn, Teaching Elder, General Presbyter, ex officio.

If you have suggestions for changes for the future and any response you might like to offer to the report, you may contact the members of the Council working on such changes at council@thepresbytery.org.

We ask for your prayers, your responsible consideration of this material, your continued patience and any suggestions you might have.


Roy Howard
Chair, Presbytery Council